Whey Protein for the Lactose Intolerant

No Milk

Millions of people have flocked to whey protein for many different reasons. The biggest ones are usually concerned with building more muscle, losing weight, and decreasing the percentage of body fat one has. One glaring issue is that millions of people are lactose intolerant. Due to whey protein being made from cow's milk, it can cause problems for those sensitive to lactose.

How Whey Protein is Made

Whey is a product of milk itself, and is the liquid that is separated from milk curds in the cheese making process. After the separation, the whey liquid is then dehydrated so it can be processed down into whey protein powder. If this is the only process that happens to the whey liquid, then what is created is called whey protein concentrate. Whey protein concentrate is a substance that has about 25 to 89 percent protein in it, and the rest is lactose (milk), carbs, and fats.

A person taking whey protein concentrate who is lactose intolerant will start to have problems, which can cause them to feel bloated, sick, dizzy, or even nauseous. However, fortunately for those who are lactose intolerant, there are whey proteins that you can take that have had most, if not all, of the milk removed out of it. These two options are whey protein isolate, and whey protein hydrolysate.

Differences Between Whey Isolate and Whey Hydrolysate

Whey protein isolate is a step up in quality from the whey protein concentrate and is about 95 to 98 percent pure protein. Now, this whey protein has had the vast majority of milk taken out of it through its microfiltration process. However, it hasn’t been taken out entirely. For those with minor sensitivity to lactose this is a good form of whey protein to take. However, for those that are highly sensitive to milk, they should take the most refined form of whey protein, called hydrolysate.

Whey hydrolysate has had the amino acid structured altered in its processing which takes out all of the milk in it. This makes hydrolysate between 95 and 99 percent pure protein with all the fats, sugars, carbs, and milk eliminated. This makes hydrolysate a great protein to take as it offers somewhat of a guarantee that one avoid any of the negative side effects of being lactose intolerant.

Which Whey Protein Contains No Milk?

Hydrolysate is the only form of whey protein that contains no milk.

That being said, it contains two noteworthy drawbacks:

  • High Cost
  • Poor Taste

Hydrolysate is the most expensive of the three forms of whey protein. It also has a very acidic and bitter taste as result of all the processing it goes through. Despite these drawbacks, it won’t give those who are lactose intolerant any trouble. It is highly recommended that individuals with lactose intolerance avoid the whey protein concentrate entirely, and use either the whey isolate or hydrolysate. The choice between isolate and hydrolysate depends on the severity of one's intolerance. For individuals that have medium to severe lactose intolerant symptoms, the hydrolysate should be taken. For those with a minor sensitivity to milk, whey protein isolate should be perfectly fine.

More Information About Whey Protein

Best Whey Protein Whey Protein Benefits for Men
How is Whey Protein Made? Whey Protein Blends
How To Use Whey Protein Whey Protein Concentrate
Is Whey Protein Vegetarian? Whey Protein for Bodybuilding
Organic Whey Protein Whey Protein for the Lactose Intolerant
Supplementing With Whey Protein Whey Protein for Women
When To Use Whey Protein Whey Protein Hydrolysate
Whey Protein and Weight Loss Whey Protein Isolate
Whey Protein as a Meal Replacement Whey Protein Isolate Benefits
Whey Protein Before or After a Workout? Whey Protein Side Effects
Whey Protein Benefits